Meet Our Mayor and Council

The City Council meets each 1st Tuesday of the month at 7:00 PM at City Hall.

The City is a Plan A statutory city.
Cities using the Plan A form of organization are the most common type of city in our state. Plan A cities operate with a weak mayor-council. The Plan A city council consists of an elected mayor and four or six elected councilmembers. The city clerk and treasurer are appointed offices, neither positions are members of the council. The clerk and treasurer positions may be combined into one appointed position.

The City Council of St. Mary's Point is a five member council.  Terms are 4 years for councilmembers.  A set of two positions are elected in alternate election years.  The mayor is elected every two years.  Typically elections are held in the even years with the General Election.